I love my job!

November 1, 2007

At the moment I am sitting in the office at Lakewood listening to the muffled voices of the ESOL classes and AL pairs, and I feel content. I truly feel happy when I come to work. It’s those voices that give me the motivation.  Those voices belong to amazing individuals that take the time out of their busy schedules to come learn how to read and to learn a new language.

I feel that in our little pocket in Durham we are helping to change the world one person at a time. (I know it sounds very naive and idealistic, but it’s good to be positive)

Literacy is a bridge from misery to hope. It is a tool for daily life in modern society. It is a bulwark against poverty, and a building block of development, an essential complement to investments in roads, dams, clinics and factories. Literacy is a platform for democratization, and a vehicle for the promotion of cultural and national identity…it is an agent of family health and nutrition. For everyone, everywhere, literacy is, along with education in general, a basic human right…. Literacy is, finally, the road to human progress and the means through which every man, woman and child can realize his or her full potential.

-Kofi Annan
7th Secretary-General of the United Nations and Nobel Peace Prize Laureate 

Leave a Reply

