Thankful

November 21, 2007

I am thankful to the 40 tutors who give up 1-7 hours a week for teaching someone to read.
I am thankful for the 50 students who show up, week after week, after their long days at work, because they are committed to changing the course of their life, and their children’s lives.

I am thankful to the VST (Volunteer Support Team) and the STG (Support Tutor Group)  for tutoring, and then saying, I want to help some more,  and  then making a huge difference in how the AL program works….and keeps working!

I am thankful to  sweet Regina with a big heart  and  fierce determination  to  empower the community.

I am thankful to brilliant Gardy with a strong heart and commitment to radical education.

I am thankful to LWB for sharing a home with us.

I am thankful for the power of reading. I am thankful to know that we have to learn to read, and help teach others how to read, as if our lives depended on it, because our future does depend on it.

I am thankful for this job.

I am thankful for you.

In gratitude,
Yashna

FK08

One Response to “Thankful”

  1. Regina Says:

    I am thankful to peaceful Yashna with a strong, open mind and the ability to spread her knowledge & goodness to the community. =)


Leave a Reply

