I can read!

January 30, 2008

Here is a poem written by a student/tutor pair from a literacy program in Illinois. Enjoy!

I CAN READ

By Dave Koontz and Bill Snyder

When you can’t work the magic of letters in a line
And you can’t read what’s written on your heart
When you can’t solve the mystery of things missing in your life
Or know the answer to what’s tearing you apart
Then you go find your own special place to hide
And make excuses and find reasons not to show
The awful secret you keep bottled up inside
In fear that comes when you think someone knows

You can’t read! You can’t read!
Do you know what that means?
All the tears and the fears constantly
You feel like your life is one long, losing fight
‘Cause you can’t read, you can’t read, you can’t read

Oh, but this nightmare can end, you won’t have to pretend
Once you just give in to the truth
There are people out there who really do care
Who can make life worth living for you
They’ll plant the seeds that will nourish your needs
And the harvest will be yours to reap
Then look the world in the eye and shout to the sky
I can read! I can read! I can read!

I can read! I can read!
Do you know what that means?
From the tears and the fears I’m set free
On my new page of life thank God I can write
I can read! I can read! I can read!


Leave a Reply

