A New Day

October 24, 2008

Hello DLC-AL Community,

Today is my last day at DLC. I have spent 3.5 joyous, challenging and amazing years with y’all- and I am so grateful for each moment.

Thank you for changing my life. Yes, that’s right- you have changed my life. You have had an influence on me that I will never forget- thank you. I think that’s what the DLC is about- changing lives.

I especially want this to be shared with our extraordinary DLC-AL students and tutors. You have changed my life. That’s right- each day that you showed up to class, you changed my life. Each day that you learned or taught another sound, another word, another tool- you changed my life. Each day that you worked all day, or all night, and still did your homework or made your lesson plan, and showed up to class- you changed my life.

So, dear students- if you can change my life….I know that you can change your life. I know that you are changing your life, and for that, I thank you. I thank you for honoring yourself to make a difference in how you experience the world.

It’s a new day. Every day is a new day. Fresh start. New beginnings.

With Peace and Gratitude,

Yashna

8 Responses to “A New Day”

  1. Mikel Says:

    Mahmood and I will very much miss you at the center. You have changed our lives. Love.

  2. rebecca s. Says:

    Dear Yashna, You’ve taught us all how to be better teachers, better students, better members of this wonderful community. And we thank you for it. You will be missed, remembered, and enjoyed when you come back to celebrate with us! love always, rebecca

    “…Nothing ever goes away until it has taught us what we need to know.” Pema Chodron


  3. […] times to list all of them) Administrative Associate at UNC Headache Clinic One of my favorites – DLC Adult Literacy Program Coordinator Nanny and various childcare  (too many times to list them all) After School and Summer School […]


  4. […] emotions we tried to obscure, vivid and abundant. Yashna, 30 year old artist, yoga instructor and adult literacy veteran, offers a brave model of healing and release. While we are busy hiding away our pain, Yashna takes […]


  5. […] emotions we tried to obscure, vivid and abundant. Yashna, 30 year old artist, yoga instructor and adult literacy veteran, offers a brave model of healing and release. While we are busy hiding away our pain, Yashna takes […]


  6. […] a new day 2009 October 25 by adrak One year and one day ago I wrote this blog post. […]


  7. […] This is Yashna, visiting guest blogger, and DLC fan for life. First- I want to say that no one at DLC got me to write this. This post is a surprise to them too! I am moved to write about all this on my own. […]


  8. […] Love, Yashna (DLC fan forever) Posted by DLC.Adult Literacy Filed in Community Member, FK, FK 10, Good ideas for tutoring, Materials, Yashna 1 Comment » […]


Leave a Reply

